Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 10:08 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: AIRPORT RUNS ETC
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:51 pm 

Hi all,

I am a self employed ph driver and get my daily work off of a local minicab firm.

Another local driver was telling me to boost his income he does airport runs but privately ie. through word of mouth - he then sticks on a magnetic sign with his info on and goes onto his job.

My question is, how would I stand if I was to do this?

Like I said my daily work i recieve is through my data box, I rent my plated car which also has insurance in with the car rent for the work i do.

If i was to do 'private jobs / airport runs' what would i do to be on correct side of law.

Could i continue to rent car of the current person who supplies this as the insurance is also included in rent?

Or would I have to get my own vehicle, insurance/public liability and operators licence etc.

Please could someone help, with any relevent insurance etc i would require - I still wish to continue recieving work from the minicab company but I also wish to just be able to boost my income a bit further.

Kind regards
chris

Post subject: Re: AIRPORT RUNS ETC
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 5:33 pm 

chrisgc wrote:
Please could someone help, with any relevent insurance etc i would require - I still wish to continue recieving work from the minicab company but I also wish to just be able to boost my income a bit further.

Your current insurance should suffice, but it might be worth just telling your insurance company.

Of course you will need an operator's license, but other than that off you go. :wink:

Just for the record, why do you refer to your Private Hire operator as a mini-cab firm?

Other than from the London trade, or the thick press, I've never heard anyone call the legit PH trade minicabs. :?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:43 am 

thanks for your reply.