Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:33 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 10:01 pm 

Hi Guys,

I am a private hire driver in Plymouth. I want to move to probably Bristol. Will I have to go through everything again? eg. knowledge, driving test etc.
Thanks for replies.
Jake

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 2:09 am 
probably, nothing about your status in Plymouth is binding on councils elsewhere.

you might even need a knowledge test, and even laws you abided by in Plymouths interpretation may be interpretated entirely different elsewhere

but a phone call to Bristol will tell you exactly what you are up against, a taxi driver might be good in plymouth but a disaster in Bristol.

I say take great care, Clive Woodward thinks you can walk out on rugby into soccer, if me and Sussex swopped places tomorow we would both be lost within an hour.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 3:01 am 
Jake

Almost certain to be different licensing. Different cost and new test, Our guest has a valid point, It may be worth going there for the day and doing some research.

I have seen some really feirce competition in some areas, in the country, where for example the min fare for ph is only £2.50. where in contrast other area's have a minimum of more than double that. It would appear to be related to how many hacks there are, as well as the location.

Some area's like where I live for example. there are no ph, operators do not want them, don't know why, I always worked in London myself, which is all PH unless you drive a black cab.

Might be worth going on to yell. com also and finding some operators and ringing around and asking questions. It would be much better though if you could get it straight from a driver.

All the best, in whatever you do, just bear in mind there is a recession on its way. and it will be a bad one this time, that is likley to last for a long time.

Take care

Lynda