Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:45 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Am I stupid....
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 9:28 pm 

...to consider buying a HC in Plymouth?

Hi I've been renting a HC for over 6 months and have now come to the decision that I'm sick of paying £290 a week in rent (including office).

So I want to buy. I've been offered my cab (S reg Metro) for £25K. The council told me today that the survey has indicated no unmet demand, so it looks as if they are happy to keep the plates restricted for now. But then there's Mr Preece's court case coming up and hopefully finishing no later than August (or am I being a tad optimistic?!). Plus the council have indicated they will be reviewing the situation in 12 months once various new city centre developments have been completed.

Any advice/thoughts/views and opinions are greatfully received. I'm pretty sure that buying a cab and plate for £25K basically comes down to a financial gamble - am I missing anything here. Anyone else had experience of buying a plate in a restricted area then the council deregulating straight afterwards?

Many thanks for reading this your input is appreciated
Cheers

Post subject: Re: Am I stupid....
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 10:20 pm 
Acesfullofkings wrote:
...to consider buying a HC in Plymouth?

Yes.

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 1:45 am 

Acesfullofkings wrote:

Any advice/thoughts/views and opinions are greatfully received. I'm pretty sure that buying a cab and plate for £25K basically comes down to a financial gamble - am I missing anything here. Anyone else had experience of buying a plate in a restricted area then the council deregulating straight afterwards?

I would at least wait until the court case is over, since that could have a catastrophic downward effect on plate values, whereas if the court case leads to no change then it's unlikely to have a huge upward influence.