Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 7:44 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:41 pm 
I have heard from good sources that in feb another 81 liencences are due to be granted what is dundee council playing at is it really trying to kill it for the decent drivers out there. It is hard enough since those other 20 plates got issued now we are going to be up against maybe another 50 out of those 81 god how times are changing in dundee i have never had it so hard i've been taxiing for 15 years and the present council should be ashamed of themselves what they have done to a decent trade. :cry:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:47 pm 

What do you mean the council was wrong in stopping all those that were acting illegally, and thus without insurance? :?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:31 pm 
Yes,Yes,Yes.
The population of Dundee is shrinking,unemployment is rising,
any new jobs that arise,are for part time.
Engineering companies have folded over the past few years,the only
growth seems to be supermarkets clambering for sites,and new
taxi plates going on.
Will be a problem in the very near future,lack of rank space,which
will be a bonus for the traffic wardens and police.
However the hired plate scenario,may go down and balance things
a bit.
Hopefully we can all make a living,but thin there could be a few
caualities in a few months time.
Good luck lads.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 4:27 pm 
I'll tell you what boys if i find out who are operating illegal hackney i will be putting their names onto the cabs office if thats what it takes to make a decent living then i suggest decent guys out there do the same get them OFF the road. :x

Post subject: andy pandy
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:10 pm 
Good for you boy,if everyone had that attitude,would not be in the
position,we now find ourselves in.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:49 pm