Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:02 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:00 pm 

I was not sure where to place this topic so I have placed it in here!!

I currently work as a private hire driver for a company and have often thought about starting my own office. Well now I think the time is right to go it alone.

I drive a VW Sharan which I will keep for airport runs and my own personal car, however, to go it alone and make more money while I build up my reputation I have been thinking about getting another vehicle. The vehicle I have in mind is the peugeot E7 hackney carriage as this would enable me to pick up fares when the town is busy and I dont have any phone work. I would like to know if anybody thinks this is a good idea and does anybody have any experience with the peugeot E7 hackney vehicles.

Also, I have seen the above vehicles second hand but they always seem to have about 150,000 miles on the clock for about £15,000. However, I have seen that you can purchase them for about £18,000 brand new with a 5yr unlimited mileage warranty.

Any help with this matter is grealy appreciated.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 3:43 pm 

the 5 year waranty only covers the parts that cab direct converted,door handles,floors etc, the main peugeot waranty is usually 2 years or 60000 miles, that covers the main things engine,gearbox etc, nobody tells you this untill you buy the cab

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:28 pm 

ARC Taxis wrote:
However, I have seen that you can purchase them for about £18,000 brand new with a 5yr unlimited mileage warranty.

I haven't seen them that cheap, but I think the E7 is a fair enough motor.

My preference however is the VW range. http://www.bernardmansell.com/volkswagen.html

Post subject: Peugeot E7
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:41 pm 

I have seen the peugeot E7 for about £18,000 online on a few websites and in the private hire magazine.