Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:27 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:06 pm 

Two letters plucked from the Plymouth evening herald.

Evening Herald (Plymouth)

August 8, 2006 Tuesday

HEADLINE: Not enough work

I am a taxi driver of 10 years' experience, and in that time my wages have dropped because there are too many taxi drivers on the Plymouth streets. I am fed up with Taxifast saying that they cannot meet demand. When I go and pick up a customer from the city around 10pm in the evening, I can count 20 Taxifast drivers parked in Colin Campbell car park and six around the back of the ABC Cinema.

OE SWORDS

Ernesettle

Evening Herald (Plymouth)

August 8, 2006 Tuesday

HEADLINE: European drivers are in for a shock.

I was absolutely furious after reading the article 'Inside Prague's training camp for taxi drivers' (Herald, August 2).

I am a hackney driver, although I started with Taxifast in the middle of 2003. I left them at the beginning of this year to go hackney driving. I used to take in everything said to me from office staff at Taxifast, and, yes, I used to think black cab drivers were a waste of time. Obviously now I have seen the other side.

I used to have to work six days a week to make ends meet - sometimes seven. The Saturday was anything from 10 to 15 hours, and I used to sit around for 30 minutes to an hour waiting for a job. How can our city have more demand for taxis? Look at the drivers sitting around and waiting. Why the need to bring in European drivers? I have used Taxifast and been picked up by Czech drivers. Their knowledge is not as brilliant as it is made out to be. I was told by one how he pays £158 office rent, £170 for the rent of his car and then extra for his rent on the house he stays in. He said he pays Taxifast more than £400 every week. Then he has the costs of fuel, cleaning, uniform etc.