Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 6:02 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: buying out of london
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:47 pm 

greetings fellow cabbies.
this is my first time posting a question so apolagies if i dont follow the correct protocol!!!

ive been renting for nearly 6 months now and am debating buying a cab,i never intended to buy a new cab what with the current opinion of the tx2.
does anyone know if there are any problems with buying a second hand cab from say birmingham,liverpool,edinborough etc... and getting it plated for use in london??? thanks in advance for any replies

chrissy the butta boy

Post subject: Re: buying out of london
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:17 pm 

chris dolan wrote:
does anyone know if there are any problems with buying a second hand cab from say birmingham,liverpool,edinborough etc... and getting it plated for use in london??? thanks in advance for any replies

I think this has been discussed on here before, but I can't remember the outcome. I think it was a no/don't know.

But Mr GBC might be able to assist.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:35 pm 

I don't think we ever really got to the bottom of this - I think it was concluded that provincial taxis might be slightly different in spec in some way as compared to London, but precisely what that was I don't think we found out.

I suspect that the most straightforward way would be to contact the PCO.

Post subject: Re: buying out of london
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:22 pm 

chris dolan wrote:
greetings fellow cabbies.
this is my first time posting a question so apolagies if i dont follow the correct protocol!!!

ive been renting for nearly 6 months now and am debating buying a cab,i never intended to buy a new cab what with the current opinion of the tx2.

chrissy the butta boy

The PCO will not license any taxi which has been out of London and is not Euro 3 compliant.