Taxi Driver Online

UK cab trade debate and advice
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:12 am

All times are UTC - 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Alcatel OneTouch Pixi 3
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Warrington Cheshire
Just a heads up about these devices as quite a few people have wasted money on them thinking they're a bargain.

Extracted from our user forum.

Alcatel OneTouch Pixi 3 is a cheap £20 pda that seems to be popping up at places.
It seems like these phones do NOT have a GPS unit even though it does say it does on the box!
This is why you can't find our driver app on the play store, as it knows that GPS is required.
The device itself reports no GPS in the settings so this is either a firmware issue or more likely, they don't fit a GPS chip-set to get the phones down to £20. It does support "network location" which isn't the same as GPS, and isn't anywhere accurate enough to work with.
On a similar note beware of any devices that say Has GPS but requires internet/mobile connection to work. This also means it doesn't have a GPS chip-set and therefore shouldn't really be advertised using the word GPS)


One company just bought 30 of these without bothering to check with us first. Mugs :badgrin: :badgrin: :badgrin:

Bill :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 6:30 pm
Posts: 43919
Location: 1066 Country
bill_datamaster wrote:
One company just bought 30 of these without bothering to check with us first. Mugs :badgrin: :badgrin: :badgrin:

Is anyone, who has been in the trade a while, surprised as such naivety? :-k

_________________
IDFIMH


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:45 am
Posts: 9842
Location: Clandestine, soon to be Russia.
Sussex wrote:
bill_datamaster wrote:
One company just bought 30 of these without bothering to check with us first. Mugs :badgrin: :badgrin: :badgrin:

Is anyone, who has been in the trade a while, surprised as such naivety? :-k



Fools and their money are easily parted.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 4:49 pm
Posts: 28
bill_datamaster wrote:
On a similar note beware of any devices that say Has GPS but requires internet/mobile connection to work. This also means it doesn't have a GPS chip-set and therefore shouldn't really be advertised using the word GPS)[/i]


I think most phones are using A-GPS now, which does use the mobile connection to improve its location results. Obviously if theres no proper gps chip though its never going to work. Poor people


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:06 pm
Posts: 22160
Location: A City near Birmingham
a good cabbie doesnt need gps

_________________
Freedom is never free


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:40 pm 
Online

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:27 pm
Posts: 17855
wannabeeahack wrote:
a good cabbie doesnt need gps

The gps is not for navigation in this instance. it is for the dispatch systems to know where the cars are to send the jobs.

_________________
Grandad,
old fart with no heart


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Warrington Cheshire
The cars location need to be reasonably accurate if it's to work right on an automated system and you're not going to get that using network location methods. It can be spot on at times but more typically it can be plus or minus several hundreds of meters and that's on a good day!

While we're on this, watch out in the PDA's location settings because many devices (including the ones we supply) have an option tick box marked "hi accuracy". This looks like the best setting to use but in reality it causes problems each time the GPS signal drops for a few seconds as it then changes to crappy network location.
Their logic on this is that some location is better than no location but in our case, it's better to use the last accurate location than one that's often completely wrong.

Bill :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:06 pm
Posts: 22160
Location: A City near Birmingham
grandad wrote:
wannabeeahack wrote:
a good cabbie doesnt need gps

The gps is not for navigation in this instance. it is for the dispatch systems to know where the cars are to send the jobs.


for the tracking then

_________________
Freedom is never free


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Warrington Cheshire
Bat (or whatever your name is.)

I started this thread to warn people off from buying a specific PDA device that was being sold with very misleading information.

You started your own thread to promote your products so please show some respect and keep it there.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:13 am
Posts: 140
Well put Bill, there are too many allowed on here that just try and push for their own financial gain.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 4:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:45 am
Posts: 9842
Location: Clandestine, soon to be Russia.
bill_datamaster wrote:
Bat (or whatever your name is.)

I started this thread to warn people off from buying a specific PDA device that was being sold with very misleading information.

You started your own thread to promote your products so please show some respect and keep it there.

Thank you.



=D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:26 pm
Posts: 130
Work OK with Cordic!!

_________________
"Where to, Guv'?. Na sorry not going my way"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 424
Location: Warrington Cheshire
It's nothing to do with which system your using, if there's no GPS it's never going to work right unless of course each of you plots are about the size Yorkshire. :lol:

There are several versions of this device available, all with differing specs and the one that's causing us grief is the bottom end device that's available at about £20.
We've had two more today both with this crappy version but at least they'd had the good sense to only buy one.
I have spoken with a few people that say their device works but they all paid about £45 / £50 so probably a higher spec version.

Maybe they're so cheap they don't bother changing the wording on the boxes they're supplied in. :lol:

Bill :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:26 pm
Posts: 130
bill_datamaster wrote:
It's nothing to do with which system your using, if there's no GPS it's never going to work right unless of course each of you plots are about the size Yorkshire. :lol:

There are several versions of this device available, all with differing specs and the one that's causing us grief is the bottom end device that's available at about £20.
We've had two more today both with this crappy version but at least they'd had the good sense to only buy one.
I have spoken with a few people that say their device works but they all paid about £45 / £50 so probably a higher spec version.

Maybe they're so cheap they don't bother changing the wording on the boxes they're supplied in. :lol:

Bill :)


They are the £50 versions - they work fine.

_________________
"Where to, Guv'?. Na sorry not going my way"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group